Instead of schoolwork, I…

26 04 2007

Hi, I’m Steven! Did you just wake up?

No, wait, you’re almost awake. The hibernation thingy stopped and now you’re sleeping for real. I can tell ’cause I always feel tingly like this when I’m in somebody’s dream.

You’re a DC like me, aren’t you? 🙂

😦 No, not a District of Columbia. Or a direct current. You’re a designer child, remember? That’s the whole reason you guys had to leave on a spaceship. At least that’s what some of the other people here told me.

I didn’t leave on a spaceship, and I definitely wasn’t born on a spaceship like you were. I was born on Earth.

When I was on Earth, I lived in a really big house with five swimming pools and twenty-two ponies and lots and lots of toys. Mommy and Daddy owned a really big company that made designer kids like me! So I think living on a spaceship must be really boring.

But when you wake up you can get off. That’s nice. I don’t know if you can make a big house with five swimming pools and twenty-two ponies and lots of toys yet, though. Maybe you can, but maybe people are still just running around in the woods hunting animals and picking berries. I haven’t been out there in awhile.

It’s kind of hard for me to control where I go. I don’t know why that is.

It’s happened ever since I was seven. I don’t know how old I am now, but I think it’s a long time.

The first time it happened where I couldn’t control where I was going, I was sleeping in my bed and I heard a loud noise and then I started going upward and I couldn’t stop myself.

I really wanted to go back down because I could see Mommy hugging me and crying really, really hard. I don’t know why I could see me. I really wanted to tell her that everything’s gonna be okay, even though I didn’t know what she was crying for, but I couldn’t.

I miss her. I haven’t seen her since then.

I really want to go back to Earth and see my family again. I never would have wanted to go away in a spaceship. I know lots of designer kids got hurt on the news and it really scared me when they showed a picture of one without a head, but Daddy said we had some really good security guards and no one could come in and hurt me even if they wanted to, ever. Then I stopped hiding under my bed at night and let Mommy and Daddy tuck me in again. It was really nice back there and I didn’t want to go.

I don’t know why I had to fly away. Mommy and Daddy probably miss me.

And I miss my nanny and my puppies and my kitty and my hamster and my horses and my video games and my tutors and the butlers and the pool people and the maids and the other kids who came over whenever there was one of those fancy parties.

Except I don’t miss math. My tutors taught me lots of math because they said Daddy designed me really good at it, but I didn’t like math. But I still want to go home.

I wonder how long it’s been.

And you’re still sleeping. Don’t you want to wake up?

If you want you can practice moving around before you wake up. Hibernating a lot probably makes it hard for you to remember how to do things. Or maybe it doesn’t. I don’t know.

I’m glad you guys finally found a place to get off the rocket. You were getting really scared about running out of food.

I don’t eat anymore. I don’t know why.

What are you looking at me like that for? Is there something on my face?

Oh, that. Yeah. It’s just a little ouch and it doesn’t even hurt. I can’t even remember where I got it. I’d put a band-aid on it but I’m not really good at moving stuff around anymore. Maybe you can help me with it later.

You’re going to wake up now? Okay, bye! It was nice meeting you!

You find yourself on the cryonics deck of a spaceship. Your health is 100/100.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

